Governor’s Burn Ban Officially Lifted in 16 Northeast Oklahoma Counties

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Governor’s Office today announced the governor’s burn ban had officially been lifted in 16 northeast Oklahoma counties. The ban on outdoor burning issued by Governor Fallin was lifted at 1 p.m. today in Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Delaware, Kay, Mayes, Muskogee, Nowata, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington counties. County commissioners in these 16 counties still can enact local burn bans and, in fact, commissioners in Okmulgee, Osage, Sequoyah and Wagoner counties have enacted county burn bans. For the most updated burn ban information visit

A governor’s burn ban remains in effect for 61 counties where a very high fire danger exists due to the wildland fuel conditions and fire behavior. In the 16 counties no longer impacted by the governor’s burn ban, citizens should check with local officials or visit to see if a county burn ban has been enacted.

Unlawful activities under the ban include campfires, bonfires, fireworks and setting fire to trash, grass, woods or other materials outdoors. Gas and charcoal grilling is allowed provided that it is over a nonflammable surface and at least five feet from flammable vegetation.

As part of the governor’s burn ban there are exemptions for a number of items such as welding and road construction. For more information, visit or call Michelle Finch-Walker at Oklahoma Forestry Services (580) 236-1021.